Who is God? I AM or HE IS…

Being floored to your face isn’t always a fun or pretty experience. If I hadn’t been driving I would literally have been on my face weeping . This is what happened on my way in to work this mornig. What brought on this wave of emotion was that I relistened to the first teaching in the series titled “God Is…” from RockHarbor taught by Mike Eerie. I need to be constantly reminded of who God really is, who he says he is and who I believe he is. Many times I think of God as being this distant, unknown being that is out of reach and out of touch with reality. Or I see God as an angry, punishing God that is out to get all the evil people in this world, including me. These are not the only ways that I, or society views God, but probably two of the most common views nonetheless. But what I think is crucially important is that we remind ourselves of who God really is….The God of the Bible; what does the Holy Bible say about who God is?

Towards the beginning of the Bible in Exodus 3, it speaks of God as a provider and and out for the people’s best interest. But, there is no physical image of God. He appears to Moses in the form of a burning bush, or in Israel’s sake, he appeared on Mount Sinai in the form of thunder, lightening, fire, and smoke that enveloped the entire mountain and shook the ground everywhere around them. I can’t even imagine the power of the presence of the glory of God would feel like. I think this is why any recolection in the Bible of people being in this presence can do nothing but fall face down on the ground and worship him. 

Also, the way Isaiah describes God is in this way, “I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple.  Above him were seraphim, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying.  And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.”At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke. “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.” –Isaiah 6:2-5. As Mike said in his sermon, “This is the vision of God that the American church needs to get back in touch with.” This is so true. God has become a God who is out dated and out of touch; just plain out unrelevant.

Also, as Mike points out from Ezekiel 1:4-5, “I looked, and I saw a windstorm coming out of the north—an immense cloud with flashing lightning and surrounded by brilliant light. The center of the fire looked like glowing metal, and in the fire was what looked like four living creatures. In appearance their form was human…” 1:22, “Spread out above the heads of the living creatures was what looked something like a vault, sparkling like crystal, and awesome…”, 1:27, 28, “and brilliant light surrounded him. Like the appearance of a rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the radiance around him. This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the LORD. When I saw it, I fell facedown…” Shame on us for stealing the power of the Lord away from our culture, we turned God into nothing. This is very humbling to me, and the main reason why I was broken this morning, and why I am allowing Him to start working this out in my life. I want to hold on to the power of God in my life…until then I will continue to be a stagnant, uneffective person.

These are awesome exapmles of who God is…but at the same time these are very figurative and pretty crazy examples. I wish I could have seen these visions of God and his glory, but Lord knows I’m too weak at heart to bear this power in my finite mind. But as I read in Matthew 1:21-23, “She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet:  “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel”(which means “God with us”). This is such a great reminder. The way we can get the most accurate vision of view of God, we look toward Jesus. Who is the exact representation of the Grace of God. I can do nothing but be extremely thankful that this powerful, almighty God is also available to each one of us. We gather our strength by the power that is revealed through Jesus and his death on a cross to redeem us; the us of this world are not worthy of this kind of love. But I am reminded again of what a friend has told me, ‘It’s (this life, everything) is not about what we can do for Him, but what He has already done for us.’ This is so important that we recognize that we aren’t worthy, but by going to Jesus, we have direct communication to a God who is with us, who embodies a complete powerful and loving God.

I pray today that I may be reminded of the power of the glory of God and that it will affect my life in the deepest way possible. That I may stop waisting my time away and allowing the enemy to steal away the joy in my life. I pray that I may focus on the price that is already paid for our salvation. A different friend has also told me that, ‘we don’t fight for victory, but from victory.’ Lord may I plug into your love and your grace and your power that I may affect the world around me. That we can all affect the world around us. May I come back to a place of awe and reverence in your power, and that I may portray that in the most effective way possible. So people will see you through my words, and my actions, and the way I live my life in a consistent fashion.

–This writing is inspired and quoted from “God Is….” taught by Mike Eerie at RockHarbor.

Explore posts in the same categories: Not Mine But Thine

Leave a Reply

